

David Murray Prize in Science

This Prize has been established by the University as a result of a contribution by David Murray, late of London, England and Adelaide, Merchant and a former member of the Council of the University, who died in London on 6 January 1907. David Murray bequeathed a pecuniary legacy of 2,000 pounds to the University of Adelaide to be applied towards the Scholarship Fund of the university.

The sum of \$4,500.00 may be awarded in each year by the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, by the Adelaide Law School, by the Faculty of Sciences, by the Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences and by the School of Medicine. The rules below refer only to the David Murray Prize in Science. The purpose of the prize shall be to encourage advanced work and original investigation.

Prize recipients

Year	Winner
2022	Brianna Rose Guidera
2022	Jackson Andrew Mickley
2021	Alison Elizabeth Roennfeldt
2020	Carla Ruth Gallasch
2019	Mitchell Ryan Herrick
2018	Tristrom Peter Cooke
2018	Philip Timothy Grace
2017	Gabrielle Anne Hunt
2017	Sacha Alaine Clifton
2016	Helen Geng
2016	Joseph James Rossi
2016	Joshua Thomas Crilly
2015	Ben Geytenbeek
2015	Matthew Jared Bowie
2014	Gemma Kate Gransbury
2013	Dylan Harries
2013	Talia Alana Wittmann
2012	Sophie Elizabeth Hollitt
2011	Phiala Elisabeth Shanahan
2010	Emma Jane Langhans
2009	Sophie Jayne Underwood

2008	Ben McGee
2008	Claire Mary Walker
2007	Samuel David Stranks
2007	Samuel Ryan Edwards
2006	Bradley Guy Simpson
2005	Adam Christopher Palmer
2004	Lucky Tran

Prize rules

Value

The value of the David Murray Prize in Science will be \$900.00 per year, or such other amount as the University shall from time to time determine.

Eligibility

The prize will be awarded by the University annually to a student who has satisfied all the academic requirements for an ordinary degree or Level 3 of a 4 year program in the Faculty of Sciences and who has enrolled for the Honours degree.

Candidate Selection

The Heads of School in the Faculty of Sciences are to be asked in March each year to nominate a student for this award in line with the original intent of the prize to encourage advanced work and original investigation. The Faculty of Sciences Prize Committee will review the nominations and award the prize to the most academically outstanding student, with particular emphasis on Level 3 results.

If there is no candidate of sufficient merit in a given year then the prize will not be awarded in that year and the money will be used in subsequent years.

If there is more than one candidate of equal merit, then the prize shall be shared.

Variations

The University may vary the rules from time to time in a manner consistent with the original objectives of the prize.

Last Updated 23/03/2022